Evarts is a 5th class city located within Harlan County, Kentucky. Our post office was opened on February 9, 1855 and  Evarts High School was opened in 1937 but was forced to close at the end of the 2007 school year due to consolidation.


We are located approximately 8 miles from Harlan, Kentucky and 21 miles from Virginia. The city currently operates under a mayor-council form of government and our current mayor is Eddie Manning.


City officials realize the importance of adventure tourism and have enacted a city ordinance allowing ATV's to travel certain roads within the city.


Mayor: Eddie Manning

City Clerk: Kristi Lamb

City Council: Preston McLain, Jaysin Stallard, Larry Caudill, Jackie Renfro, Ernie Woodard, Shelly Shackleford

Maintenance Supervisor: Cledo Powers

Police Chief: Owen Noe

Police Officers: Charles Bailey, John Teagle

Fire Chief: Cledo Powers

Assistant Fire Chief: Anthony Williams

Water Clerk: Tonia Begley

Water Plant Operators: Woody Fields, Anthony Williams, Scotty Freeman

Sewer Plant Operator: Jerome Price

Maintenance Department: Leonard Powers, Adam Shell, Will Botts,

Zack Aslinger​

City Government

Comments, questions, or suggestions please click here!

City of Evarts, Kentucky - All Rights Reserved.

cityofevarts@gmail.com, 1.606.837.3205